Nissan XTrail with Turbo Conversion

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
Hi Sifu,

As I go from one used car to another, I found this Xtrail which the previous owner had transplanted
a 2.0 turbo engine.

As I am no Nissan fan, I really dont know from which car did this engine came from, neither the salesman.

I was actually planning to find a descent Mitsu Airtrek Turbo but seeing this Xtrail made me to think of a 2nd option.

With a price tag below RM30k, anyone can give advice on the pros and cons?

Thanks in advance

Hi Sifu,

As I go from one used car to another, I found this Xtrail which the previous owner had transplanted
a 2.0 turbo engine.

As I am no Nissan fan, I really dont know from which car did this engine came from, neither the salesman.

I was actually planning to find a descent Mitsu Airtrek Turbo but seeing this Xtrail made me to think of a 2nd option.

Thanks in advance
Negotiate the car down and buy it. The SR20VET engine belongs to the X-Trail GT, a JDM only model. Which meant the previous owner either imported his own X-Trail, or did a transplant.

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
Hi Sifu,

a 2.0 turbo engine.

Thanks in advance
looks like a sr20vet-vvl.... not a common variant (xtrail gt)
mitsu parts are cheaper here and this isn't exactly as common around these parts....

imo stick to the airtrek (also because i assume you are more familiar with them)

*car does look pretty nice tho*

Hi Sifu,

a 2.0 turbo engine.

Thanks in advance

its sr20vet direct from xtrail GT model (turbo oem from factory in xtrail body)

so i would say everything is plug n play..provided that u bought complete front and rear halfcut

or should i poison u with this? :biggrin: :driver:

loose_end

Jul 29, 2009
How low is low. With that price tag, can opt for Air Trek or Caldina

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee

or should i poison u with this? :biggrin: :driver:
This is king. Menang habis. Sai Lang. #tapao #winliao

Forget the xtrail, forget the airtrek, forget the caldina. Get this.

MKMD428

Aug 21, 2005
johore
Hi Sifu,

a 2.0 turbo engine.

Thanks in advance
I owned a Nissan before. Both 20DET and Neovvl (1.6 and 2.0)
This is definitely transplanted. Because this engine is the newest compare to other nissan SR engine. 20DET or 20DE has existed from the early 90s up to Y2k. From FR, FF, 4wd, high port, low port, autech version, you name it.

Neovvl however came a bit late around mid 90s to 2003ish. There is a different between N15 or B14 SR16VE vs B15 SR16VE, the latter has bigger a 9" flywheel, hydraulic clutch pump, a better ratio for 5th gear. Cam profile and Final drive remains the same for both and both are viscous LSD.
SR20VE all came in with the shitty problematic CVT gearbox be it in Y chassis or N chassis. Even halfcut selling between 200-400 for the CVT gearbox. Very problematic, most will end up converting to manual. Now the SR20 20V however is a different thing. Timing chain is different from 16VE and 20VE plus their cam and lift profile is different because they only activate once as opposed to 16VE and 20VE in which their intake and exhaust opens differently. Gearbox in SR20 20V is 6 speed with 9 inch flywheel. There is also SR16VEN1, to this date...the halfcut still cost above 10k. Why? you can google why..hihihihihihii

Now for the 20VET, it is basically the same as vtec turbo but sadly came in only in a 4wd auto. big turbo, if i am not mistaken the same as T28 Silvia. I dont now why the heck nissan created this engine only in AT but the idea of having variable valve lift and timing + turbocharged is a great way of having a nice curve of torque and power distribution. The exhaust and intake profile activates the same like SR20 20V (only once) and heck their head and rocker cover looks exactly the same.
What most people do is they convert it to manual when transplant it to other chassis. I've seen nissan B14 using it, nissan B13 using it. There are 2 to 3 people that I know using this engine in xtrail and every single part is 100% plug and play. No issues for gearbox. Want to know the cam specs? see it below, so you can see the difference, bear in mind. these cams are interchangeable from every SR to one another (only for VVL type engines)

SR16VE cam degree spec: SR16VEN1 cam degree spec:
Intake cam: Intake cam:
1. low 200 degree lift 7.1 1. Low 220 degree lift 8.4
2. high 280 degree lift 11.1 2. High 288 degree lift 12.00

exhaust cam: exhaust cam:
1. low 244 degree lift 7.95 1. Low 244 degree lift 7.95
2. high 280 degree lift 11.1 2. High 288 degree lift 11.9

SR20VE cam degree spec: SR20VE (20V) cam degree spec:

1. low 220 degree lift 8.4 1. Low 228 degree lift 10.10
2. high 264 degree lift 10.7 2. High 278 degree lift 12.00

1. low 244 degree lift 6.6 1. Low 244 degree lift 8.3
2. high 268 degree lift 10.34 2. High 280 degree lift 11.15

SR20VET

Intake cam
Low lobe: 8.0mm lift @ 212 duration
High lobe:11.0mm lift @ 248 duration

Exhaust cam
Low lobe: 11.3 mm lift @ 244 duration
High lobe: same

Nowadays nissan people tend to bolt on neovvl head to SR20DET (to become SR20VET) because this route is much cheaper and much easier than BOT-ing the neovvl or buying the SR20VET halfcut and sourcing out the manual gearbox.

I have heard cases, when the SR20vet was converted to manual (in other chassis lah, not the xtrail) the bearing cannot tahan one, need to upgrade the engine bearings. If use in OEM, no problem whatsoever.

My advice? buy the car. hahahahahaha.

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
I owned a Nissan before. Both 20DET and Neovvl (1.6 and 2.0)
This is definitely transplanted. Because this engine is the newest compare to other nissan SR engine. 20DET or 20DE has existed from the early 90s up to Y2k. From FR, FF, 4wd, high port, low port, autech version, you name it.

SR20VE cam degree spec: SR20VE (20V) cam degree spec:

1. low 220 degree lift 8.4 1. Low 228 degree lift 10.10
2. high 264 degree lift 10.7 2. High 278 degree lift 12.00

1. low 244 degree lift 6.6 1. Low 244 degree lift 8.3
2. high 268 degree lift 10.34 2. High 280 degree lift 11.15

SR20VET

Intake cam
Low lobe: 8.0mm lift @ 212 duration
High lobe:11.0mm lift @ 248 duration

Exhaust cam
Low lobe: 11.3 mm lift @ 244 duration
High lobe: same

Nowadays nissan people tend to bolt on neovvl head to SR20DET (to become SR20VET) because this route is much cheaper and much easier than BOT-ing the neovvl or buying the SR20VET halfcut and sourcing out the manual gearbox.

I have heard cases, when the SR20vet was converted to manual (in other chassis lah, not the xtrail) the bearing cannot tahan one, need to upgrade the engine bearings. If use in OEM, no problem whatsoever.

My advice? buy the car. hahahahahaha.
Hi bro MKM,

How much HP & Torque are we talking for this 2.0 SR20 VET Neo VVL Turbo ?

If combining the original xtrail 4wd, can the shaft/axle take that kind of power?

Just found the car advertisement in Carlist --> https://www.carlist.my/used-cars/2004-nissan-x-trail-2-0-gt-turbo/3115187/

Cheers.

Hi bro MKM,

How much HP & Torque are we talking for this 2.0 SR20 VET Neo VVL Turbo ?

If combining the original xtrail 4wd, can the shaft/axle take that kind of power?

Just found the car advertisement in Carlist --> https://www.carlist.my/used-cars/2004-nissan-x-trail-2-0-gt-turbo/3115187/

Cheers.
for the xtrail tebo...the engine is memang originally from xtrail body..just tanchong malaysia didnt bring in this model....probably jdm limited production...and if the owner transplant everything front to back...should be no issue...

btw regarding the SF5 forester, current market price is hovering around 30k for stock condition....and around 40k-50k for well maintained and fully loaded car...
try look in mudah.my....saw quite a few car within that price range recently

Unless you’re a rap star, a gangster from the ‘hood’, a super celebrity or just love the attention, please stick to your 18” OZ’s or whatever(they serve a purpose) or even 20” Avanti’s for your SUV or car. Ok, 22” are still acceptable but not this. 30” is huge and mind boggling but 40” !!?? I don’t know what to say, there are no words in my vocabulary. It’s not that I’m...