NewBie to Perdana V6

spawn_net

Jan 26, 2015
Perdana V6 by far the BEST BUILD proton model intern of build quality accept for safety features.. hihi

Neways.. I bought a V6 2007 model. superb condition and all is well for until now after two years of using.. WHITE SMOKE!! arghhhhhh :banghead:

Asked around what should be done.. most say Top Overhaul and cost around 3k original parts.
So I have a buddy use to be a Perdana KAKI till he sold off his car. Recommended me tukar the engine..

Base on findings 3 best model to fit;

1. Eterna RS TT
2. 6A13TT
3. Evo III

Just wanna know what the Sifu of Perdana think looking at aspect of cost, reliability, availability of spare parts and maintenance cost.

how much can I get a difference by just changing gearbox to manual.

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
Perdana V6 by far the BEST BUILD proton model intern of build quality accept for safety features.. hihi

Neways.. I bought a V6 2007 model. superb condition and all is well for until now after two years of using.. WHITE SMOKE!! arghhhhhh :banghead:

Asked around what should be done.. most say Top Overhaul and cost around 3k original parts.
So I have a buddy use to be a Perdana KAKI till he sold off his car. Recommended me tukar the engine..

Base on findings 3 best model to fit;

1. Eterna RS TT
2. 6A13TT
3. Evo III

Just wanna know what the Sifu of Perdana think looking at aspect of cost, reliability, availability of spare parts and maintenance cost.

how much can I get a difference by just changing gearbox to manual.

well built?

still ok, look at the impact of full speed on the rear of perdana..
hit by a toyota vellfire..

Engine, i say go for Evo 3.
I wanted it badly, provided price is good.

Manual or auto, i would go for manual.
always have been on manual, *real man uses 3 pedals* haha

spawn_net

Jan 26, 2015
Top overhaul including timing belt cost under rm2k with Japanese branded parts.
2k?? Shop name n place?

---------- Post added at 04:31 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:29 PM ----------

well built?

still ok, look at the impact of full speed on the rear of perdana..
hit by a toyota vellfire..

Engine, i say go for Evo 3.
I wanted it badly, provided price is good.

Manual or auto, i would go for manual.
always have been on manual, *real man uses 3 pedals* haha

Wahh bro that impact consider ok...
Imagine other models of Proton.. I think your engine fall off on the road.
I have had;

1. Saga (Mega-valve)
2. Wira
3. Waja
4. Now v6...

Proton should give me an award.. hahaha

If you are going turbo route, by all means transplant the engine, but if not, better you top overhaul.....:biggrin:

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
If top overhaul, buy your own parts and ask your trusted mechanic to do it, if you know what parts and brands you want. This way you can save quite a bit 10-20% on cost of parts.

wah top overhaul rm3k ah?
u got rm20k in hand? by all means go for evo3.

if not just overhaul it.

1.japan top overhaul kit RM150
2.japan full overhaul kit RM300.

3.timing belt set DAYCO RM350
4.spark plugs RM360 - iridiums
5.water pump Rm150-200

workmanship for the above>
RM800-1k. (full overhaul)
top overhaul RM400-600.
**includes item 3,4,5.

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
Bro, I think you typed wrongly,

Dayco timing belt set (EU/US) RM240.
Gates timing belt set (Japan) RM280
Proton timing belt set RM560

Japan Cherry top set RM330. Proton top set RM7xx.

Water pump (generic) RM95
Water pump (Proton) RM960

Denso Platinum spark plug RM38 X 6= RM228

Bro, I think you typed wrongly,

Dayco timing belt set (EU/US) RM240.
Gates timing belt set (Japan) RM280
Proton timing belt set RM560

Japan Cherry top set RM330. Proton top set RM7xx.

Water pump (generic)

Denso Platinum spark plug RM38 X 6= RM228
it was sooo long ago since I did my engine rebuild, cant remember the price though just an estimation.

spawn_net

Jan 26, 2015
wah top overhaul rm3k ah?
u got rm20k in hand? by all means go for evo3.

if not just overhaul it.

1.japan top overhaul kit RM150
2.japan full overhaul kit RM300.

3.timing belt set DAYCO RM350
4.spark plugs RM360 - iridiums
5.water pump Rm150-200

workmanship for the above>
RM800-1k. (full overhaul)
top overhaul RM400-600.
**includes item 3,4,5.
WOW 20K for EVO 3?? :banghead:
I have a 10k budget for the car....

WOW 20K for EVO 3?? :banghead:
I have a 10k budget for the car....
halfcut rm13k
SS exhaust & intercooler pipings + samco RM2k
replace wear & tear parts RM2-3k depending on how critical are the parts need to be replaced include
respraying engine bay, engine oil & gearbox oil.
wiring & engine installation - Rm700-800.

the $$ balance is just for standby.

if u bought a lemon halfcut the costs will increase.

---------- Post added at 03:36 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:34 PM ----------

with your budget I suggest u just overhaul your engine.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
2k?? Shop name n place?

---------- Post added at 04:31 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:29 PM ----------

Wahh bro that impact consider ok...
Imagine other models of Proton.. I think your engine fall off on the road.
I have had;

1. Saga (Mega-valve)
2. Wira
3. Waja
4. Now v6...

Proton should give me an award.. hahaha
U do know engine falling out is the safety feature right.

spawn_net

Jan 26, 2015
halfcut rm13k
SS exhaust & intercooler pipings + samco RM2k
replace wear & tear parts RM2-3k depending on how critical are the parts need to be replaced include
respraying engine bay, engine oil & gearbox oil.
wiring & engine installation - Rm700-800.

the $$ balance is just for standby.

if u bought a lemon halfcut the costs will increase.

---------- Post added at 03:36 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:34 PM ----------

with your budget I suggest u just overhaul your engine.
Thanks Bro.. Really Helped a lot..
maybe I just throw my Auto and move to Manual..
For the Standard V6..
What's the best Gear box?
Any specific model?

Can the standard V6 be upgraded by after market parts?