New Car Tax Holiday!

Syukurlah! Government giving sales tax holiday for new cars. 10% for CKD and 5% for CBU.

Since I’m bored. Let’s play a game.

What car would you buy for each category. To keep things simple, prices are retail car prices, not discounted price, and keep in mind what spec you get cause it makes a difference

1. Below RM50k
2. RM50k to RM80k
3. RM80k to RM100k
4. RM100k to RM125k
5. RM125k to RM150k
6. RM150k to RM200k

You can go to carbase.my and search by min to max price to see the list of cars available.

I’ll go first

1. Saga full spec cause the thing can handle.
2. Since this is fake and I don’t have to really buy it, the VW Polo. I get “European“ quality made in India or Mexico I’m not sure. It’s not a CVT. Otherwise the Yaris seems nice, Jazz is EOL. Aisin 6 speed automatic, should be okay.
3. This segment is so limited. I would go with the base spec X70 or the D-Max 1.9L AT-P.
4. Subaru XV, fun looking. Dreary CVT.
5. Mazda CX-30
6. VW Passat. Think it’ll give the most luxurious drive, with a potent engine and a wet DSG. Of course in real life I’d probably buy a CX-5 2.5T so I don’t have to deal with VW Malaysia.

Reactions: Tom

Something below 80k if possible. Eyeing X50 but won't be here just yet......lol

minibeany

Apr 30, 2017
1. Kia Picanto --- comes with nice infotainment.
2. Toyota Yaris
3. Toyota Hilux
4. Honda Civic
5. Mazda 3
6. Subaru Forester

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Hmm have never really paid attention to new cars and their prices, so tough to play coz cannot really remember available cars at those brackets.

I was surprised by the prices of HRV, CRV, Camry, Accord LOL. Their RRP is really crazy.

Reactions: Tom

5% or 10% of the sales tax is meager and almost non-relevant if you ask me. All the prices are still high.

Reactions: alcyon

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
Syukurlah! Government giving sales tax holiday for new cars. 10% for CKD and 5% for CBU.

Since I’m bored. Let’s play a game.

What car would you buy for each category. To keep things simple, prices are retail car prices, not discounted price, and keep in mind what spec you get cause it makes a difference

1. Below RM50k
2. RM50k to RM80k
3. RM80k to RM100k
4. RM100k to RM125k
5. RM125k to RM150k
6. RM150k to RM200k

You can go to carbase.my and search by min to max price to see the list of cars available.

I’ll go first

1. Saga full spec cause the thing can handle.
2. Since this is fake and I don’t have to really buy it, the VW Polo. I get “European“ quality made in India or Mexico I’m not sure. It’s not a CVT. Otherwise the Yaris seems nice, Jazz is EOL. Aisin 6 speed automatic, should be okay.
3. This segment is so limited. I would go with the base spec X70 or the D-Max 1.9L AT-P.
4. Subaru XV, fun looking. Dreary CVT.
5. Mazda CX-30
6. VW Passat. Think it’ll give the most luxurious drive, with a potent engine and a wet DSG. Of course in real life I’d probably buy a CX-5 2.5T so I don’t have to deal with VW Malaysia.
I read at PaulTan...pickup not eligible for the exemption....hadoi...
Dmax is very tempting.

5% or 10% of the sales tax is meager and almost non-relevant if you ask me. All the prices are still high.
Not when you buy a Ferrari or McLaren. Bangsawan like you drive Porsche... I guess to you is meagre.

I read at PaulTan...pickup not eligible for the exemption....hadoi...
Dmax is very tempting.
I don't understand the logic, cannot use pickup for personal non-commercial use? If the person stay kampung, road like shit. Government want to give, but actually cannot afford to give cause they song lap left right.

Does anyone had idea where to custom made Heat shield in KL and selangor area, I had been quote to exhaust shop, but most of them refuse to do so.