Maintaining a Skyline (how to?)

Supremus

Merchandise
Feb 19, 2004
Lets make this constructive and benefit to all owners.

Lots of questions and doubts over what is cost and how to maintain a Skyline
(GTR, GTT, GTS, hybrid GTT-R, GTS-R, etc..)

Here's a breakdown.

How often shall i change my Engine Oil?
What Engine Oil?

How often shall i change my Gear Box (Transmission) Oil?
What Gear Box Oil?
What Transfer Case Oil?
Front Diff Oil?
Back Diff Oil ?

How Often to change Brake Fluid and what type to use?
What Brake Pads?

Power Steering Oil?

HICAS (4 wheel steering) Oil? What to use?

let's discuss.

Supremus

Merchandise
Feb 19, 2004
This is taken from the user manual of a GTR32 (aus)
I suppose it applies to all RB26 engines. (pls correct me if im wrong)

Recommended lubricants:
Fuel: Premium unleaded - min octane 95 RON
Engine: API SG 7.5-30 Turbo
Manual transmission: API GL-4 80W-90
Transfer case: Nissan Matic "D"
Power Steering Rack: Dexron II
Cooling System: Nissan LLC (long life coolant)
Brake and Clutch: DOT 4

Capacities:
Fuel: 72L
Coolant: 8.7L
Engine w filter: 4.6L
Engine w/out filter: 4.2L
Power Steering: 1L

farizio

Nov 26, 2007
thank god, i was getting sick of people starting threads asking about this every two months....sticky!

sapisuka_return

May 3, 2008
Good one, but how about for the non GTR engine...i like japanese mag so much (ex: OPTION..) they teach the user to D.I.Y ... so please all the sifus here to give guide how to D.I.Y...prefer to have working manual complete with picture...

Driftmeister

Jun 17, 2005
Good read...quite tempting actually to keep modding but always gotta make sure all maintenance schedule is not neglected.

farizio

Nov 26, 2007

rych

Jul 7, 2008
wow! i've always thought our car filled up at 60 litres but its 72 litres actually?can anyone clarify this?

i nvr wait until the lights came up(but i nvr know as well coz i took off my dash and noticed one bulb missing, so i take it as the fuel low lights)so i always refill when my metre goes to E.At E point, i can only refill until about 52 liters, so i take it 8 litters are roughly the emergency reserve. So..if its 72 litters then i can safely assume i still have 20 litters in my car when i pump at point E?

kaminari

Taiping
Ur car 65L :)

GTR32 - 72L
GTSt32 - 60L
R33 GTR/GTSt - 65L
R34GTR/GTT - 65L

Std reserve fuel tank in most car will relocate MIN 3L. So with skyline STD mod, should clock arnd 30KM range when the light pop up~

rych

Jul 7, 2008
great!

here are some infos i dug out for the 100k km maintenance. can anyone further clarify these are correct?Please bear in mind these are all OEM nissan items

BCNR32
Belt | Fan & Alternator AY140-40880-
Belt | Compressor AY140-40925-
Belt | Power Steering AY140-40950-
Belt | Timing 13028-20P25-

------------------

ECR33
Timing belt:13028-20P25- for rb25det non neo head
Belt Fan & Alternator: AY140-40850-
Belt Compressor: AY140-40910-
Belt Power Steering and Oil Pump: AY140-30845-
Filter Oil AY100-NS007

missing part numbers:(need info for ECR33)
Idler pulley:???????????
Tensioner Pulley:???????????
Nissan Crank Oil Seal:13510-50B10 (Not sure what is this part for, but i might just want to change it. The part number is for ER34, anyone know if it will fit my ECR33?)
Water pump:???????
Thermostat:????????
-------------

it would be great if people can come up with a package for all those sets in one piece. I am definitely doing mine but just that its a fcking hassle to get it piece by piece. Any source locally with a reasonable price that i can ring to?

joethurr

Sep 11, 2007
is there any shop that has these parts stocked up locally? If anyone knows this info, pls do share.. thanks :)

kaminari

Taiping
I`m have ready stock at Malaysia for :

N1 Oil pump
N1 Water pump
NISMO thermostat
TOMEI Headgasket RB/SR
Brake Caliper overhaul kit

For belting there is 2nd brand available at Malaysia widely, eg: BANDO as long u knw the belting type. Tensioner/pulley comes 1 set wth original timing belt.

reference:
ECR33: (Fan belt,Power Steering,A/C)
4PK850, 3PK845, 4PK910

ER34:
4PK890, 4PK865, 4PK910

GTR34:
4PK875, 4PK969, 4PK910

Nissan ECR33 Oil Crankshaft Seal:
Front: 13510-10Y10
Rear: 12279-5L310

If u buying NEW oil pump, the front crankshaft seal is INCLUDED.

kaminari

Taiping
hehhe,can~....other green also will plus included~

I`m currently trying hard to bring/setup Nissan import car parts at Malaysia

kaminari

Taiping
Front 4 Pot Nissan R33/R34 GTT and 2 Pot Rear caliper R33

BREMBO overhaul kit also available R33/R34GTR

remember the black surface paint coat on trucks?

if it's available in small rattlecans i wanna buy to re-spray my bumper black trimming.
according to how tuff those bedliners are, iIMO once you spray 'em on ur linings, it'll last fer years!

can we actually get 'em anywhere? or hafta send to some place to get it sprayed?

tq.