Gearbox Problem!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cheap and possibly temporary solution : Flush the gearbox and change the ATF filter and use Lubeguard additives.

Probably permanent solution : Rebuild the GB
I've tried Lucas ATF additive, Lubegard red.. and it didn't work.

Finally I tried TransX before I rebuild the gearbox..it worked.

My problem was that the car wasn't engaging reverse gear, and when driving forward..it won't shift up.. a bottle of TransX, last year..and now..I just change ATF as usual and the car is fine.

For a RM40 bottle of liquid.. versus RM1.5k to rebuild.. not bad trying.

humongousgravy

Dec 9, 2010
Seremban
Tumpang thread as I have gb problems too. I want to ask you guys, right now my car during highway cruising 4th it will suddenly drop to 3rd gear, normally where there's a slope, something like the engine braking when coming down from Genting. However recently it occurring more often and yesterday my trip from JB I stopped at almost all rest stops to restart the engine. But even so after 10 kms or so the problem will surface again. What I want to ask is has anyone faced this problem before and is it something other than the gearbox? Appreciate any advice.

What car and what type of GB? Sounds like protection mode though. What speed were you going at?

Going downhill at 100km/h? Wah.. big balls. Personally I think you should start with the basics, change the ATF oil and filter (use the proper spec oil, not D3 or D4 or whatever. If I'm not mistaken it uses SPIII so consider a good SPIII like Mitsubishi Diaqueen SPIII or something better. Then consider an ATF cooler. The Perdana has a fundamental weakness in its gearbox cooling design. Gearbox oil RM120+-, ATF filter RM80+- and halfcut ATF cooler RM100+-

If all of this fails to solve the problem consider a well known additive like Lubeguard platinum. RM100 give or take for the additive.

If even that fails to solve the problem then you'll need to consult a GB specialist and that'll be the most expensive option. RM1000++

GB rebuild can be RM3k plus.......1k is cheap dy. Even half cut now should cost around RM3k if not mistaken

humongousgravy

Dec 9, 2010
Seremban
Not exactly downhill Genting, but down a slope as per those on N highway. I have done all those you stated. ALL cooler, change my Atf religiously every 20k km or less, atf filter changed every 40k, but still. I was wondering if it is the TCU being the culprit here? Or perhaps it's just the spirit of the manual gearbox calling out to me...

---------- Post added at 10:52 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:51 AM ----------

Ya I also use SP3 ATF, also tried the Rock oil Multi ATF and then now switched to Proton SP3. Then the problem became more obvious

humongusgravy : Then it's beginning to sound like a clutch slip or whatever and probably will need a gearbox specialist already. I recall one time I had to change the 'clutch' on my torque converter because of slippage, the issue wasn't similar to yours but I only had 3 long gears to play with so it may or may not be similar.

Btw, TransX / Lubeguard additives surprisingly work so if you haven't tried, worth a try.

humongousgravy

Dec 9, 2010
Seremban
Any idea where to get those transmission additives? In PJ or Puchong. By the way want to ask you guys, exhaust white smoke and engine makan minyak can it be solved by top overhaul if done properly?

jaynian

Jun 8, 2006
Butterworth
humongousgravy : i'm not sure your problem similar with mine or not but i'm driving sei 97. mine one is gear slip at 3th & 4th gear. when 3 to 4 it slip and feel like free gear then only engaged. when driving at 4th gear suddenly it feel like free gear then drop to 3th gear. mine one happen very offend even at low speed. the mechanic diagnos is 4th gear problem, i dont know how he done it but i saw him press the od button at the gear knob few time when gear slip to engaged the gear then he tell me 4th gear got wear out. he only change some thin steel gear plate. according to the mechanic he not even take down the whole gear box then the job done as he said the 4th gear is near the outer site of gear box..i not at the workshop to c how he done and it only cos me around rm300. i hope this can help u

Any idea where to get those transmission additives? In PJ or Puchong. By the way want to ask you guys, exhaust white smoke and engine makan minyak can it be solved by top overhaul if done properly?
For white smoke and consuming engine oil, have to see the extend of your piston, cylinder wall and piston rings wear. If bad, then you need full overhaul. If not then a ring job can solve, but like I said depends on the wear

Goodday guys.

Some cars may be so precious that money can't buy. How if they accidentally damaged... or broken? If bodyparts are concerned, they can be handmade. Here soem samples! Do comment if you have something to say. I reckon they can't be hundred percent as the original ones, however so close to actual design is possible.

A Capri fender for instant