BNM measures to give 6 months moratorium

Let's focus purely on the hire purchase clause.

6 months no need to pay car loan! Is that a good or bad thing since no interest impact either.

Discuss?

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
If u are in financial difficulty during this 'viral' period, its a good thing. U also win if u plant to sell your car as no need to waste 6 month installment. Sell it at the last month of the morotarium.

If u can serve your loan/financing as usual then its a terrible way to spend 6 month as
U still have to serve the 6 month, at an extended period of the overall tenure.

If u are in financial difficulty during this 'viral' period, its a good thing. U also win if u plant to sell your car as no need to waste 6 month installment. Sell it at the last month of the morotarium.

If u can serve your loan/financing as usual then its a terrible way to spend 6 month as
U still have to serve the 6 month, at an extended period of the overall tenure.
assuming you can find a buyer....

If you are financial sound, continue paying. Those who are not so good off, also have to be careful as they might spend the money elsewhere then find it hard to continues installments later.......lol

My question that nobody can answer. Is, will there be additional interest accrued? Unlike other loans, the interest for HP is already calculated upfront.

For housing loan I understand.

My question that nobody can answer. Is, will there be additional interest accrued? Unlike other loans, the interest for HP is already calculated upfront.

For housing loan I understand.
Every day different version coming out. Certain banks now announce no compound interest.....

Confirmed. Hire purchase loans won’t incur additional interest. So take it! Only those by banks eligible.

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
If you are financial sound, continue paying. Those who are not so good off, also have to be careful as they might spend the money elsewhere then find it hard to continues installments later.......lol
wish got hidden stash of money in shoe box....hahaha
"IF" have 6 mth of payment ready, then continue as usual.
i opt for automatic moratorium to cushion uncertain 6 mth. Family is more important than try to be hero continue serving loan because the risk of salary cut or jobless since economy badly affected by covid19.
Some may not agree.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Question, will the subsequent payments get higher due to reduced installment frequency, or the term period also gets extended hence just continue the same installment amount?

minibeany

Apr 30, 2017
Question, will the subsequent payments get higher due to reduced installment frequency, or the term period also gets extended hence just continue the same installment amount?
continue for another 6 months. no higher payment or compound interest.

If you want to continue paying, you need to contact your bank, fill in form and opt-out.

To me, 6 months extension is not too long. But during this critical 6 months no cash in hand will be a bigger problem. A big storm is coming ahead.

Still don't know what the company financial and cash flow situation. If you're on IT line you will see a higher demand on IT peripherals because everything will switch to online mode and WFH. If you're in tourism and hospitality then a big problem. Last month globally already seeing 70% dropped. Cruise company almost gone.

Reactions: 6UE5t and sweelt

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010

If you want to continue paying, you need to contact your bank, fill in form and opt-out.

To me, 6 months extension is not too long. But during this critical 6 months no cash in hand will be a bigger problem. A big storm is coming ahead.

Still don't know what the company financial and cash flow situation. If you're on IT line you will see a higher demand on IT peripherals because everything will switch to online mode and WFH. If you're in tourism and hospitality then a big problem. Last month globally already seeing 70% dropped. Cruise company almost gone.
Then it's good, should just take it.

Yeah, just glad to still have a job.

Yah, like airlines too.......

minibeany

Apr 30, 2017
Petrol price dropped seems good right... but it has big impact... refineries is continue to operate... oil mining cannot stop once started... this has created more supply than demand... soon, we will see layoff by oil industries. This industry is known as bigger spender in anything... there will chain effect.

knn.. my bank is the one bank thats a dick. Ok gonna keep repaying then. I don't want to add on the misery

Hi guys, about last month, I installed a Borla straight flow muffler on my car, and yes it was very loud and bassy initially. Last week my hands were itchy and decided to install a DIY cold air intake, the DIY was okay, but I removed them about two days later because of the heavy rain recently in my area,afraid of floods,since the road I travel to college is prone to flooding. (Ps: I never really pay any attention to the sound of muffler when my CAI was installed)

Until now,I have not...