Any IS250 owners or club around?

JinJangJoe

Jan 31, 2011
tq bro ed78.

bro lathen, i'm having some annoying prob since change the battery 8 months ago.

YouTube - is250 weird start sound.AVI

if u could hear the loud cranking sound when i try to start the car. i will go away for a few days if i reset the ecu.

:)
That is a camshaft problem. Something only Toyota can fix, I think. There were a few cases in Singapore which were handled FOC by Borneo Motors which is the official dealer for Lexus (there are no parallel imports of Lexus in Singapore to my knowledge).

Here is another example:
Is250 Camshaft Rattle On Cold Start - Finally Acknowledged. - Lexus Owners Club (USA & Canada)

waque

Feb 4, 2010
this happened after i changed battery for the first time. before that i used the battery that come together with the car for 3 months, everything was fine. that battery has japanese words written on it. but after 3 months, i change battery because afraid the battery will kong. since my car is recond, i dont know how long the previous owner has been using the battery.

bro jinjangjoe,

i dont think its the camshaft prob because if i reset the ecu or put new battery, it will be orite for about a few days.

JinJangJoe

Jan 31, 2011
this happened after i changed battery for the first time. before that i used the battery that come together with the car for 3 months, everything was fine. that battery has japanese words written on it. but after 3 months, i change battery because afraid the battery will kong. since my car is recond, i dont know how long the previous owner has been using the battery.

bro jinjangjoe,

i dont think its the camshaft prob because if i reset the ecu or put new battery, it will be orite for about a few days.
I still think it is an internal mechanical knocking noise, which has nothing to do with your battery.

It is just sheer coincidence that the problem did not show up when you reset the ECU or fitted a new battery.

If you can make the problem appear in spite of a new battery / resetting the ECU, then that will confirm a new battery / ECU reset will not prevent the sound from coming back which in turn confirms that the problem has nothing to do with a fresh battery or an ECU reset.

One way to induce this problem to surface is to not use the car for maybe a week to let all the oil drain away from the camshaft area.

If you put in a super fresh battery (which also means that the ECU has been reset because the battery was disconnected) and the sound comes back, then you have your proof that you probably have a camshaft bearing problem.

ed78

Jan 5, 2011
Just my two cents kay.........

i think it has to do with the battery, or some voltage/current thing.

The sound is very familiar to low voltage to the starter, happen to my IS as well.

why i changed the battery in the first place.......
when i sent for tinting the guys left the dome light, and the ignation light on the whole time they were tinting the car(i left the car there and went back)...... full car took the like 4 hours.......
so when i got back they tried starting the car and it would crank with that noise TAK< TAK < TAK..........

i jam for a while, the guys said battery drained, which should not be. so recomend change the battery, he cranked the car again just to prove his point.........

i noticed in your video that you have to start twice..first time tak ..... which seems to me as not enough current going to the starter ( the tak, tak, tak comes from the starter - not enough juice to turn the crank over) or even like sometimes when you hold the key at start even when the engine start already you get the sound......... listen to you video again.............

could be just a starter problem dude............... i'm no expert, maybe you can get the mech to check that first...........

waque

Feb 4, 2010
tq bro jinjangjoe and bro ed78 for your opinion n comment.

i already went for checking at trial tuning and toms bangsar in november 2010. both come out with different opinion.
trial tuning opinion- something to do with battery/ecu
toms opinion - suggesting to change ecu, throttle body and intake manifold.

:bawling:

ed78

Jan 5, 2011
tq bro jinjangjoe and bro ed78 for your opinion n comment.

i already went for checking at trial tuning and toms bangsar in november 2010. both come out with different opinion.
trial tuning opinion- something to do with battery/ecu
toms opinion - suggesting to change ecu, throttle body and intake manifold.

:bawling:

we need to cari jalan to make friend with the lexus mechanic.........
then can tumpang his advice outside their center. i know for a fact there is no way they will even touch the grey imports........ after talking to the lexus guys, he was so adement against it. even send there for normal service also they won't layan.

if we can get the contact sure these fella's will do outside jobs.

khoo198

Feb 11, 2009
N9
very famous la dis number......:adore:

lathen

Dec 31, 2010
we need to cari jalan to make friend with the lexus mechanic.........
then can tumpang his advice outside their center. i know for a fact there is no way they will even touch the grey imports........ after talking to the lexus guys, he was so adement against it. even send there for normal service also they won't layan.

if we can get the contact sure these fella's will do outside jobs.
I wonder if singapore borneo motors (lexus singapore) willing to service our car ? Anyone try that b4 ?

---------- Post added at 10:32 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:29 PM ----------

I read from singapore lexus forum, saying that got one shop specialise in servicing lexus, the boss know lexus very very well, something like used to be lexus mechanic in lexus singapore

---------- Post added at 10:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:32 PM ----------

SgLexus...Singapore Lexus forum :: Log in

mechfreak

Oct 2, 2005
I tot only the local or UK spec ones can use RON95? mine using RON 97 for the 3.5 litre engine,, maybe i should switch too

My friend car have been stolen at a workshopl @ kamunting....

No. Plate : PAX 4958

Owner Name : Adib

No H/P : 0173000953