Rm8k Wira & Jazz GK5 ownership experience-A long way to go

sifu... how frequent do we hv to flush this Wira radiator? mine became muddy again. sob... sob... View attachment 577915
How do you flush the radiator? Unplug the stopper at the bottom or remove the top hose?
Best you remove the top hose and let everything flow out while filling the radiator with engine running, until the water comes out clear then only fit back the hose and add coolant.
But looking at the condition, maybe you need to send to radiator specialist to open up for cleaning.....

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
sifu... how frequent do we hv to flush this Wira radiator? mine became muddy again. sob... sob... View attachment 577915
I use my coolant for at least 20k km.
What i did is fill in 100% premix coolant. only top up with water if coolant level reduced. i discover from another car within my family that using only one bottle of coolant and top up with water is not good for long term.

Using 100% premix is kinda expensive depending on how one look at it. My BLM radiator only hav very minor rust recently as i failed to do periodic check on coolant condition. Mind u thats the same radiator since at least 5 years ago. My waja...thats the same radiator since 02, cant check as it has no cap but coolant in reserve tank is still green and no rust sign.

I also discover that the new proton blue coolant will loose its color quickly. It does not seems to lose its anti rust properties or cooling ability which is good.

sanekit

Dec 9, 2015
whoa. this is same case as mine. need to do full flushing service for radiator and block and change the water jacket and bypass pipe.

i swap engine and got it running in 2016. multiple flushing still got rust and sludge. now it's at the workshop changing timing belt, water pump, water jacket the usual stuff. so mech is doing full flush for the block coz the rust memang inside the water passage at the block.

sanekit

Dec 9, 2015
I use my coolant for at least 20k km.
What i did is fill in 100% premix coolant. only top up with water if coolant level reduced. i discover from another car within my family that using only one bottle of coolant and top up with water is not good for long term.

Using 100% premix is kinda expensive depending on how one look at it. My BLM radiator only hav very minor rust recently as i failed to do periodic check on coolant condition. Mind u thats the same radiator since at least 5 years ago. My waja...thats the same radiator since 02, cant check as it has no cap but coolant in reserve tank is still green and no rust sign.

I also discover that the new proton blue coolant will loose its color quickly. It does not seems to lose its anti rust properties or cooling ability which is good.
this kind of rusting not advisable to use coolant. later become like my car. the water jacket terus burst, bypass pipe burst. coz coolant eats through the rust. hahaha

KHNG940413

Dec 25, 2015
johor bahru
I flush 2 time already. Because the ex owner didn't take care of the engine.The 2nd time I open the bottom cap at the radiator let the coolant empty it 1st then fill it with water and run the engine.
And I let the water go out from the top pipe and I keep tembak the water inside to the radiator.

parakey

Apr 30, 2012
I flush 2 time already. Because the ex owner didn't take care of the engine.The 2nd time I open the bottom cap at the radiator let the coolant empty it 1st then fill it with water and run the engine.
And I let the water go out from the top pipe and I keep tembak the water inside to the radiator.
Did you check again after a few weeks?

KHNG940413

Dec 25, 2015
johor bahru
Did you check again after a few weeks?
I had check. The coolant still are green colour. Not like the 1st time all become Milo Colour. Now car running fine and cool.

Another funny thing.
The temperature gauge always malfunction. So I always smack it. But after few time of punching instead of smack,now thr temperature gauge works perfectly fine. Hahahahhahahaha

parakey

Apr 30, 2012
I had check. The coolant still are green colour. Not like the 1st time all become Milo Colour. Now car running fine and cool.

Another funny thing.
The temperature gauge always malfunction. So I always smack it. But after few time of punching instead of smack,now thr temperature gauge works perfectly fine. Hahahahhahahaha
Sounds like mine except mine requires very frequent smacks. Connection not good

KHNG940413

Dec 25, 2015
johor bahru
Wira update.

Had bought some daun pisang & a universal fog light to fit my mivec bumper.

The old light is all rust and doesn't work anymore.
For the daun pisang. The left side of my car one decided to end it's life while I driving at highway. Nasib baik I heard some weird noise and stop at the emergency lane at check out.
The daun pisang had went loose and start feeding itself to my tyre.

minibeany

Apr 30, 2017
How do you flush the radiator? Unplug the stopper at the bottom or remove the top hose?
Best you remove the top hose and let everything flow out while filling the radiator with engine running, until the water comes out clear then only fit back the hose and add coolant.
But looking at the condition, maybe you need to send to radiator specialist to open up for cleaning.....
the last round remove everything including the radiator and changed the full set of hose. Flush till the running water was clear only fixed back.

You use water only or with coolant?
yes, with coolant... but I guess was pre-mixed with normal water... this round going to use drinking water + coolant

i want to change my savvy engine. any sifu here pls advise which engine suitable for savvy