Conversion

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
Hi sifus....

I'm currently driving a satria 1.6. I've heard that it's possible to convert sohc to DOHC by changing the top w/o having any modification on any parts. Is that true..?

I've also heard that it's possible to change the 4G92 SOHC with 4G93 SOHC w/o much modification. Is that true..?

Actually I am looking forward to do some modification to my car to that it performs better. May I know how true is the 2 modification above..? If both are true, does it mean that I can change the engine into GTi engine kosong straight away? Of course I understand that the capacity of the injectors will not be as efficient of the GTi. But i think I can accept that.

Thank you sifus in advance.

pifecto14

Jul 28, 2005
Change 4g92 SOHC to 4g93 SOHC?? you plan to change the block?? As both are sharing the same engine head, so don bother. If you say change to DOHC head from 93 or 91, yes its possible and can increase power on higher rev. If change DOHC head ; Timing belt, gasket, distributor (if use back 92 wiring) plug cables as well. If got budget change to mivec head + wiring.

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
Thanks for the quick reply.
But my engine is 4G92 SOCH, Can MIVEC top (which is DOHC) use on a SOHC block..?

And MIVEC top + wiring is almost the price of a half cut..?

I duno, just asking

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
But can it be used on a SOHC block??? Cause my engine is 4G92P SOHC. What about the installation of the wiring and head.

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
can be use on 4G92p block. But not sure on compressor ratio.
Is advise to go with complete engine / halfcut.

pifecto14

Jul 28, 2005
Half cut around 2.5k+- can get mivec top and wiring + ecu, then get a 1.8 93blok which cost around 500-600+, then rojak la. Not sure complete Mivec engine will cost how much nowadays. should be around 4-5k.

WESeleventhirty

Oct 17, 2005
hey guys.my mechanic have told me about a mitsubishi 1.6 v6 engine..anyone knows abt it? whats the engine code ehh? and the performance like? might wanna change my engine soon. mivec 2 expensive la.:confused:

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
hey guys.my mechanic have told me about a mitsubishi 1.6 v6 engine..anyone knows abt it? whats the engine code ehh? and the performance like? might wanna change my engine soon. mivec 2 expensive la.:confused:
The engine is 6A10 with 138 hp. I heard that the engine isn;t as good as it promises. The only selling point of the engine is the V6. Might as well go for 4G93. At least that's what I've been told by my mechanic...

Hi Guys,

Any recommendation on how to DIY to protect your head lamps from turning yellowish over time?

Thank you.