Buying a kiaforte

Nov 30, 2011
Hi all, currently I'm thinking to buy a second hand used Kia forte, but there's many rumours saying that the car have many problems like gearbox, dashboard and etc. is that true? I'm thinking to buy 2010 4x or 2011 6x . Any suggestion ?

Every car model and brand has their lemons. Make sure you thoroughly test the car before buying.

Personally I find the Forte quite a good car. Especially the 2.0. Plenty of space, plenty of power and quite an interesting drive. Only thing is the expensive parts. But cars of this level usually aren't cheap anyway.

Every car model and brand has their lemons. Make sure you thoroughly test the car before buying.

Personally I find the Forte quite a good car. Especially the 2.0. Plenty of space, plenty of power and quite an interesting drive. Only thing is the expensive parts. But cars of this level usually aren't cheap anyway.
Buying second hand Kia will surely be cheaper than H, T, N....:driver:

even a brand new BMW has many flaws too, it all boils down on how does the previous owner take cars of the car, take your time searching around for one, probably better to get from direct owner as they will tell u the car's history, service records etc....selling price might be slightly higher than those used car dealers but able to negotiate the price lower at times.

buying the forte from a used car will prone to have issues later on, as the car salesman hides the problem currently on the car, so the best is to test drive & look thoroughly on the car's condition.

good luck.

Ya, unless u know the car well. Was thinking of getting a used car last time. Get back the same one as I have at home. At least I know the car well enough to be able to check thoroughly. Though there are still things that I might not be able to check and only will be able to know after maybe 1 - 2 weeks of driving.

Older cars easier to check IMO not much electronics.

Thanks for mentioning this. I almost forgot to check for rust on the body. Now need to be extra careful in choosing one.
Even check for repainted marks/signs. Check for any oil leak stain in the engine bay and undercarriage for rust or leaks.

Check spare tyre compartment too. Also those door rubber can remove a bit to check it u want.

1. Wet carpets
2. Damp smell
3. Check under the carpets (not floor mat)
4. Pull down the door rubber thingies to check
5. Check the boot and spare tyre well
6. Check undercarriage (bring torchlight) and look for holes/rust

Basically scrutinize the car inside out. Start the engine and drive slow with the car in gear, floor it to see how it shifts, listen for noises and rattles and lastly walk away from any seller that refuses to let you strip the carpet or rubber liners.

So many choices, why a Kia Forte?

1. Wet carpets
2. Damp smell
3. Check under the carpets (not floor mat)
4. Pull down the door rubber thingies to check
5. Check the boot and spare tyre well
6. Check undercarriage (bring torchlight) and look for holes/rust

Basically scrutinize the car inside out. Start the engine and drive slow with the car in gear, floor it to see how it shifts, listen for noises and rattles and lastly walk away from any seller that refuses to let you strip the carpet or rubber liners.
I have seen them dismantle everything from inside, cleaned, dried and fitted back looks like new woh!:rolleyes:

---------- Post added at 07:28 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:28 PM ----------

So many choices, why a Kia Forte?
Cheaper, I think....:rolleyes::biggrin:

Is cheaper indeed but still got many other choices within range wor xD

I have seen them dismantle everything from inside, cleaned, dried and fitted back looks like new woh!
Actually - if they did that then it's all fine. Just look for rust and ensure engine runs smoothly. Half the reason why people don't buy flooded cars is because the cleaning is a hassle mah

If I know is flooded car I would not buy even if cleaned up nicely....:smokin:

tinking of an doin n engine swap in jaybee pondering between visworks n speedworks any bros here any reccomendations cos price wise i feel jaybee more competitive but i dunno wat to do when inspection time comes cos they cannot help mi "pass" unlike some sg workshops where alot of ppl says can be done under table lol! some civics recc mi HV but heard pricing wise not much diff from visworks n they dun really do my type of car so pls advise...