Buying a Lancer Sportback 2.4

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
Sifus,

My fren is planning to get a Lancer Sportback. I never had any experience or ppl giving about this car. I noticed it is very few on the street. Year 2011 can get below RM100k. Izzit worth buying?

I mean the maintenance, FC, spare parts, performance,etc. On paper the 2.4liter can produce 170hp. Hope U guys can share any useful knowledge before my buddy here make a wrong move. Appreciate it guys!

Look at the Mazda 3 hatch -- new one coming, Mazda 6 hatch just came out not too long. This sportsback quite old model already.

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
At first he was crazy about Caldina. Later he mentioned the new Ford Focus also not bad. But after awhile he still insist on sportbacks. Well different ppl, different taste. I'll recomend Suprima S if he changes his mind again.

Haha. This lancer sportsback is not a bad car, just considered old model already, should be an outgoing model soon. Frankly speaking, the new Mazda 3 and 6 is nice if he wants a sportsback. If he don't mind Proton, sure, Supramaniam S is a good choice too.

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
We did a test drive... The combination of stock suspension and 215/45/18 tyres not bad.
The accelaration is slightly more comparing to my caldina ZT.
Still doing spareparts research at Mt. Austin chop shop. Managed to find 1 front cut of 4B12..
So I guess finding the parts is not that hard. :biggrin:

Ford Focus ST is not bad. RM209K and performance seems not bad. I would go for Ford Focus ST. 250PS and 340nm of torque is
kinda impressive man. Yet only 2.0L.

focus st is overpriced bro.. maybe we can start praying fiesta st landed in malaysia.. :biggrin:
For that kind of performance to me I find it reasonable. Almost the same price as Golf GTi.
but 30HP higher than Golf GTi. Both turbocharged.

Bigger too. Not sure how much the new mazda 3 hatchback cost.

ykwc42003

Sep 29, 2012
Perak

I have been a proud owner of Lancer sportback 2.4 for the past 18 months and I am enjoying my every moment with it. I am not sure why people still prefer to get the lancer GT as opposed to sportback, maybe because one need to pay a higher roadtax for a 2.4L engine?

I am still servicing with Mitsubishi Motor as I got free service vouchers up to 40,000KM but according to the service centre the service fees are exactly like lancer GT.

Fuel consumption for highway used is about 7-8L/100KM if you maintain about 110-120KM
Mixture between town and highway will be between 10-11L/100km ( based on indicators on the speedometer)

Getting a 2011 second hand for less than 100K means it is already a RM30K+ discount. I guess it should be a good bargain.

nyne

May 21, 2013
selangor

I have been a proud owner of Lancer sportback 2.4 for the past 18 months and I am enjoying my every moment with it. I am not sure why people still prefer to get the lancer GT as opposed to sportback, maybe because one need to pay a higher roadtax for a 2.4L engine?

I am still servicing with Mitsubishi Motor as I got free service vouchers up to 40,000KM but according to the service centre the service fees are exactly like lancer GT.

Fuel consumption for highway used is about 7-8L/100KM if you maintain about 110-120KM
Mixture between town and highway will be between 10-11L/100km ( based on indicators on the speedometer)

Getting a 2011 second hand for less than 100K means it is already a RM30K+ discount. I guess it should be a good bargain.
i saw one secondhand in Penang blue color 2010, at Honda seberang prai. they going to sell for 85k. i mean thts cheap though. maybe im getting tht.

hwl is a good brand overall, the hi-lo-soft-hard (MT4) is more expensive at about 3k++ iirc, but the hi-lo model (MT1) shud be much more cheaper at around RM1.5k+