4-2-1? 4-1? Extractors broken down!

Zeroed

1,500 RPM
Nov 14, 2003
Hi guys. I would like to take the opportunity to discuss a little about "backpressure".

"Backpressure" is a huge misconception that has spread to a lot of Malaysians. Im not an expert, but have studied many technical articles that has made this apparent.

"Backpressure", aka reverse pressure / congestion in the exhaust system, is *always* bad. When most people say "backpressure" they are actually referring to a more restrictive exhaust system, i.e. smaller diameter pipe. What this creates is *exhaust velocity*.

There are two aspects to exhaust flow, velocity and volume. A big pipe will flow more volume, but at a slower speed (less velocity). A small pipe will flow less volume but at a higher exit speed / velocity. Remember our physics lesson where if you squeeze the water hose, the water shoots out further? Thats because velocity has increased at the small opening.

The common misconception comes, I guess, from the exhaust in the smaller pipe having a higher air pressure. Technically however higher pressure is not "backpressure".

A higher velocity in the exhaust flow will allow the exhaust system to make full use of the scavenging effect, i.e. the exhaust pulse from one cylinder actually creates a vacuum which "pulls" out the exhaust gasses from the other cylinders, reducing engine pumping losses (parasitic loss). This then improves torque.

However, there is a limit as to how fast the exhaust can flow, and when the engine hits this limit, the smaller pipe will be restricting the exhaust flow, causing "backpressure". This is bad because the engine is then pushing out the exhaust gasses, whereas a good exhaust system will actually help the engine pull out the gasses.